Webinar VisualWEBINAR REGISTRATION

A State-of-the-Industry Webinar: Apple’s LL-HLS is finally here.

When: July 15th, 2020

Session 1: 9am CEST (Central European Summer Time)/5pm AEST/4pm JST (Japan Standard Time)
Session 2: 4pm CEST (Central European Summer Time)/7am PT (Pacific Time US) /10am ET (Eastern Time US)
Session 3: 7pm CEST (Central European Summer Time)/10am PT (Pacific Time US) /1pm ET (Eastern Time US)

Pieter-Jan Speelmans - Circle Text

Host: Pieter-Jan Speelmans, Founder and CTO of THEO Technologies

Some of the things we will cover:

  • The latest LL-HLS update

  • The implications and opportunities LL-HLS brings: ABR, DRM, SSAI, Subtitles

  • The state of LL-HLS in the online media streaming industry & end-to-end implementation.

Fill in the form to register, and let us know if you have any questions you would like answered during our webinar.

Session Synopsis

Ten months after its official announcement at Apple Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) 2019, the Low Latency HLS (LL-HLS) specification has finally reached the end of the tunnel. After multiple iterations and a fair share of criticism by the community on some unpopular requirements in earlier versions, has Apple finally answered the industry’s need for lower latency using HLS?

In this talk, Pieter-Jan Speelmans, the Founder and CTO of THEO Technologies, reviews the evolution of the LL-HLS specification and explores how the specification has become what we know it as today. A deep dive into how exactly LL-HLS works will also be discussed, identifying its strengths, limitations and best practices.

Furthermore, the discussion explores the current state of LL-HLS in the online media streaming industry and gives an example of what an end-to-end implementation could look like with the updated specification.